Horticultural Societies of Parkdale & Toronto AGM 2021

2021-11-08 12:00 | Anonymous

Our 2021 Annual General Meeting will be held via ZOOM on November 29 at 7PM.

The following documents are available for download and the AGENDA, BIOS and FINANCIALS are also presented below for easy access.

Agenda for AGM November 29, 2021

Hort Board 2021 Nominees Bios

Previous AGM minutes (November 30, 2020)

Financials for the year ended September 30, 2021


1.   Call to order of the 2021 AGM, Ron Charlemagne, President - Welcomes and introductions, Announcements

2. Report on quorum (20 members minimum)

3. Additions to /Approval of the agenda 

4. Approval of the Minutes of the 2020 AGM held November 30, 2020

5. Report of the PresidentRon Charlemagne - Acceptance of the President’s report

6. Report of the TreasurerEmieke Geldof - Acceptance of the Treasurer’s report- Appointment of financial reviewers for fiscal year Sep 30, 2022 (Ingrid Whittaker and Patty McKnight)

7. Vote on the amendment to the Constitution (allowing business by Zoom)

8. Hand-over virtual gavel to Eleonora Schmied, OHA District 15 Assistant District Director

9. Elections to the 2021 - 2022 Board of Directors 

New nominations: Sarah Michelle Rafols

Re-standing at the 2021 AGM for 2021/22: Emieke Geldof, Clement Kent, Barbara Japp, Helen Vorster, Judy Whalen.

Completing 2nd year of term: Annelies Groen, Ron Charlemagne

Call for further nominations 

10. Installation: Acceptance of the slate by the Membership

11. Return of Virtual Gavel and Adjournment of the 2021 AGM

12. Introduction of the Speaker Mari Lise Stonehouse


New Nominees for 2-year term:

Sarah Michelle Rafols

Member of the Hort since 2020, Sarah is interested in sustainable horticulture that builds and fosters community and biodiversity. Currently a horticultural technician journeyperson and the apprenticeship program manager at Landscape Ontario, she previously worked as an administrator, technician/gardener, groundskeeper, supervisor, and instructor in several green sectors, including green roofs and landscape maintenance. Sarah is a board member of the Ontario Parks Association Foundation and has been a volunteer at the High Park Nature Centre, LEAF, and Canada Blooms for over 10 years.

 Re-election for another 2-year term:

Emieke Geldof

Member of the Hort since 1995; Board of Directors 2011 to present; Recording Secretary in 2015, Treasurer since 2017.  Member of Communications Team (manages Hort website and email communications). Enjoys painting, canoeing, nature, and good food. Has worked as a teacher, bookkeeper, software tester, documentation writer, software trainer and support person, and currently is a freelance bookkeeper. Originally from New Zealand.

Barbara Japp

Member of the Hort since 2007. Board of Directors 2007 to present; Plant Fair committee 2008 to present; Communications Committee 2011 to 2018, Second Vice President 2011–2012, Newsletter co-editor Fall 2011 to Fall 2017. Co-President of Board of Directors with Diana Baxter 2013 to 2016. President of Board of Directors 2017–2018; Co-president Board of Directors 2019; Past President 2020. St. George’s baskets volunteer, volunteer at CNE Garden Show. Volunteer at the OHA info table at the CNE and Canada Blooms. Volunteers at the Hort Show the Flag events.

Clement Kent

Founding member of the Parkdale Horticultural Society 1988. Clement Kent is adjunct professor of Biology at York University and a co-founder of the Parkdale Horticultural Society. He has helped lead the creation of several pollinator gardens by the Hort, as well as serving in most board positions, many of them several times. Vice-President 2020 - 2021.

Helen Vorster

Member since 1994. Helped organize one of the early garden tours and has written many of the speaker summaries for the Hort newsletter. Dug and weeded for Kathy’s Grove. Has a small architecture firm that specializes in residential renovations and additions including garden design. Interested in sustainable design, maintaining our natural world, travel, art, and summers in Georgian Bay. Secretary 2020 - 2021.

Judy Whalen

Member of the Hort since 1991. Board of Directors 1995 to present; Treasurer 1998­–2008; President of Board of Directors 1997 - 1999. Works with Mari Lise Stonehouse on the speaker’s Programme 1997 to present, Community Garden Projects Coordinator 1999 to present; designed first website in 1999, Newsletter editor (1999–2003)

Completing second year of 2-year Term:

Ron Charlemagne

Member of the Hort since 2010; Board of Directors 2015 to present; Vice president 2017, 2018; Co-president of the Board 2019; President 2020 - 2021. Member of the Education and Outreach Committee, instituting the Info Table at the General Meetings. Knowledgeable in Horticulture and technical issues. Volunteers at the Hort Show the Flag events, setting up for meetings, and many other Hort events.

Annelies Groen

Member of the Hort since 2018. Experience in horticulture labour and landscape construction. Recent horticultural project: creation of a RAIN garden through a Master class. Proud host for the Swallowtail Project in the Annex. Professional background includes outdoor education workshops for primary teachers.


Copyright © The Horticultural Societies of Parkdale & Toronto. All rights reserved. 

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software